

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Monday July 7, 2008

Contact: Jeff Gombar 604-421-9755

## Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame Announces 2008 Inductees

New Westminster, BC – Nine new members and one team have been named for induction into the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

The new inductees are builders Bill McBain (Kelowna, BC) and Robert Stuart "Ves" Vesey (Brooklin, ON); box lacrosse players Todd Lorenz (St. Albert, AB), Larry Bell (Victoria, BC), John Grant Sr. (Hanmer, ON) and Gary Moore (St. Catharines, ON); veteran players Ross N. McDonald (Tsawwassen, BC) and Alan "Al" Frick (Guelph, ON); field lacrosse player Gail Cummings-Danson (Saratoga Springs, New York) and the 1994-96 Six Nations Chiefs Lacrosse squad in the team category.

**Bill McBain**, is a long-time builder of lacrosse at all levels across Canada since the late 1960's. McBain has been an integral part of lacrosse development educating coaches and players. Once the President of the CLA, Bill now focuses his efforts on the coaches introducing coaching certification programs and writing technical resources. He is a member of the Fergus Lacrosse Hall of Fame and the Canadian Armed Forces Sports Hall of Fame. He currently leads the CLA Coaching Committee, is the BCLA Regional Coach in the Okanagan and Master Learning Facilitator for box lacrosse.

**Robert Stuart "Ves" Vesey** has been involved with the Brooklin Redmen (Ont.) organization since 1961. Vesey has held almost every position with the Redmen as Team Manager, Director, General Manger and President. In his 47 years with Brooklin, his teams captured 15 Ontario Lacrosse Association Championships, 13 Eastern Canadian Championships and 7 Mann Cup titles. Bob is a past OLA President's Award recipient and a member of the Whitby Sports Hall of Fame.

**Todd Lorenz** was a member of three New Westminster Salmonbellies Senior A Mann Cup Championship teams in 1986, 1989 and 1991. Over a 13-year, 434-game senior career, Todd scored 857 points on 380 goals and 477 assists, 35<sup>th</sup> highest point getter in Western Canadian senior lacrosse. Todd has helped develop lacrosse in Edmonton building the Senior 'B' Outlaws and the Junior 'A' Miners squads. Lorenz is currently a high level official in the National Lacrosse League.

**Larry Bell** started his Junior lacrosse career with the Mimico Mounties and finished with the Lakeshore Maple Leafs of Toronto capturing the 1970 Minto Cup ending the seven-year-reign of the Oshawa Green Gaels. After two pro seasons in Toronto and Boston, Bell made his way west to play for the Victoria Shamrocks from 1976-1985. In 309 games, Bell scored 160 goals and 304 assists for 464 regular season points. He played in four Mann Cup series' winning two in 1979 and 1983.

**John Grant Sr.** is a product of Peterborough lacrosse from 1969 to 1992 playing Junior, Senior and in the pro ranks. John Sr. is no stranger to success winning one Minto Cup and three Mann Cups. He also toiled internationally with the Team Canada men's field lacrosse teams in 1978, 1982 and 1986 winning a World Championship in 1978. His Major lacrosse career spanned 12 seasons with

Peterborough from 1973-1992. In 203 Major, Senior and pro games he amassed 245 goals, 506 assists for 751 regular season points. Grant was the recipient of both Minto (1972) and Mann Cup (1984) MVP awards. In 1997 he was inducted into the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

**Gary Moore** played 20 years of Junior and Senior lacrosse from 1954-1974. In Junior, he starred with the St. Catharines Athletics and was a pick-up player for the Brampton Excelsiors Minto Cup victory in 1958. Moore played his first two seasons of Senior lacrosse in Nanaimo and Victoria before returning to St. Catharines and finishing his career in Brantford, where he won a Mann Cup title in 1971. During his senior career he played 215 games, scoring 304 goals and 178 assists for 482 points. In 2000, he was inducted into the OLA Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

**Ross N. McDonald** was known for his knack of gathering loose balls and possessing great toughness and leadership. He competed in four Mann Cup Championships with the Vancouver Burrards, winning three titles; one as a player in 1967 and two as a coach in 1975 and 1977. In 265 career games from 1962-1975, he scored 282 goals and 257 assists for 539 points while amassing 256 penalty minutes.

Alan (AI) Frick was amongst the top scorers of his St. Catharines Athletics teams in the 1950's. In his Junior career for the Athletics, he competed in two Minto Cups in 1947 and 1950 winning titles in both. Frick went on to a Senior career from 1950-57 with St. Catharines scoring over 200 goals and 100 assists. In 2002, Frick was inducted into the OLA Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

**Gail Cummings-Danson** has reached the highest level in every aspect of the game and been a great ambassador of women's field lacrosse. She grew up playing minor box lacrosse with the boys in Huntsville, Ontario before joining the Ontario women's field lacrosse team from 1982-89. She played collegiately at Temple University winning a national championship in 1988. She is the all-time leading scorer at Temple with 283 goals, 89 assists for 372 points. Cummings-Danson was a member of the Canadian Women's National team from 1982-1989 and the USA Women's National team from 1990-93 winning a world title in 1993. She was inducted into the OLA Hall of Fame in 1999 as well as the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame (USA) in 2007.

The **1994-96 Six Nations Chiefs** teams were Mann Cup Champions three years running. The Chiefs team formed in 1993 with many Junior and Senior Six Nation players. The core of Chiefs came from the 1992 Minto Cup champions Six Nations team with the likes of Cam and Tim Bomberry, Miles General, Pete Skye, and Jason Johnson – while adding veterans Duane Jacobs, Tom Hawke, the Kilgours (Darris, Travis and Rich), Paul St. John and Paul Gait. The Chiefs were destined for greatness. Six Nations won the 1994 and 1995 Mann Cups respectively in six games over the New Westminster Salmonbellies while winning the third title in 1996 over the Victoria Shamrocks in a four game sweep.

The new inductees will bring the number of those honoured in lacrosse's national shrine to 440--134 builders, 194 box players, 78 field players and 34 veterans (those who played prior to 1970). There are 11 teams inducted in the team category.

The formal induction banquet and ceremonies will be held in November 2008 at the Firefighter's Club in Burnaby, British Columbia. For additional information please contact Randy Radonich, Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame Chair at 604-936-1642 and for tickets contact Sohen Gill at 604-421-9755.